Spectroscopic, Diffraction, and Computational Studies on Iridium Dihydride Complexes

<u>Martin C. Feiters</u>,¹ Bram J. A. van Weerdenburg,¹ Anthonius J. H. Engwerda,¹ Marco Tessari,¹ Paul Tinnemans,¹ Alessandro Longo,^{2,3} Dipanjan Banerjee,^{2,4} Alison J. Edwards,³ Floris P. J. T. Rutjes¹

 Institute for Molecules and Materials, Radboud University, Heyendaalseweg 135, 6525 AJ Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Dutch-Belgian Beamline (DUBBLE), ESRF - The European Synchrotron, CS40220, 38043 Grenoble Cedex 9, France
Istituto per lo Studio dei MaterialiNanostrutturati, CNR-ISMN, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche Via Ugo La Malfa 153, 90146 Palermo, Italy
Department of Chemistry, KU Leuven, Celestijnenlaan 200F box 240,4
Leuven, Belgium
Bragg Institute, Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation, New Illawarra Road, Lucas Heights NSW 2234, Australia

Since it was first developed, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) has become a powerful analytical tool. One way to overcome its intrinsic insensitivity is to use hyperpolarization techniques to produce non-Boltzmann spin-state distributions. As illustrated in the Figure, transfer of hyperpolarization (yellow stars) can be achieved by the temporary association of *para*hydrogen and a substrate in the coordination sphere of a transition metal [1]. The best catalyst for polarization transfer [2] is based on IMes (1), which gives a transient six-coordinate iridium N-heterocyclic carbene complex with three substrates and two hydrides (2), in which the exchange rate of substrate and parahydrogen at the metal centre and the scalar coupling constant J determine the efficiency of the hyperpolarization of the substrate, pyridine (Py) in this case.

There is a X-ray crystallographic structure available of $[Ir(IMes)(pyr)_3H_2]Cl complex (2)$ [3], which has also been studied by Density Functional Theory (DFT) calculations and Extended X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (EXAFS) [4]. It is found that there is agreement to within 0.01-0.02 Å between most Ir –ligand distances derived from EXAFS and XRD, but that those derived from DFT can be up to 0.1 Å larger. The strongest disagreement between the structures for **2** is on the Ir-H distances which are 0.2 and 0.1 Å longer in DFT than in XRD and EXAFS, respectively. We have recently found that an analogue of **2**, [SIMes H₂ Py Bpy] BF₄ (**3**) gives stable crystals so that it is amenable to accurate structural studies. Single crystal neutron diffraction [5] takes advantage of the relatively strong neutron scattering by H as compared to other nuclei and is therefore a more suitable experimental technique to validate the Ir-H distances derived from DFT than X-ray techniques such as XRD and EXAFS where the contributions of H are only weak.

We have calculated the structure of **3** by DFT and experimentally validated it by spectroscopy (EXAFS) of the solid, and X-ray and neutron diffraction of the crystals, in order to get accurate structural information, in particular on the Ir-H distances.

The results of spectroscopic, diffraction, and computational studies of iridium dihydride complexes are complementary.

References

R. W. Adams, J. A. Aguilar, K. D. Atkinson, M. J. Cowley, P. I. P. Elliott, S. B. Duckett, G. G. R. Green, I. G. Khazal, J. López-Serrano, and D. C. Williamson, Science 323 (2009) 1708.
B. J. A. van Weerdenburg, S. Glöggler, N. Eshuis, A. H. J. Engwerda, J. M. M. Smits, R. de Gelder, S. Appelt, S. S. Wymenga, M. Tessari, M. C. Feiters, B. Blümich, and F. P. J. T. Rutjes, Chem. Commun. 49 (2013) 7388.

[3] M. J. Cowley, R. W. Adams, K. D. Atkinson, M. C. R. Cockett, S. B. Duckett, G. G. R. Green, J. A. B. Lohman, R. Kerssebaum, D. Kilgour and R. E. Mewis, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 133 (2011) 6134.

[4] B. J. A. van Weerdenburg, A. H. J. Engwerda, N. Eshuis, A. Longo, D. Banerjee, M. Tessari, C. Fonseca Guerra, F. P. J. T. Rutjes, F. M. Bickelhaupt, M. C. Feiters, *Chem. Eur. J.* 21 (2015) 10482–10489.

[5] A. J. Edwards, Aus. J. Chem. 64 (2011) 869.

Acknowledgements

The authors thank the European Union and the provinces of Gelderland and Overijssel for support in the EFRO UltraSense NMR project, the Dutch and Flemish research councils NWO and FWO for access to the DUBBLE 26A beamline at the ESRF, and the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) for access to the Koala Neutron Diffractometer.